Black Bean Soup

black bean soup

I should really call this recipe bean soup instead of BLACK bean soup because, truth be told, I actually only had one can of black beans in my pantry when I decided to make this. I used a can of pinto beans as a substitute for the second can of black beans and it was just as good and it actually still looked like black bean soup. So, just pretend it’s truly black bean soup.

I made this soup for lunch one day when I was home sick from work. Nothing I had in my fridge sounded very good and I was craving soup. I always crave soup when I feel under the weather. So, I took stock of what I had in my pantry and came up with this delicious, flavorful, healthy soup. I used chicken broth but you could definitely use vegetable broth and make this vegan.

Sometimes the soup toppings are just as important as the soup itself. I was trying to keep it healthy so I just topped mine with a few slices of green onions but some other great topping options include crumbled tortilla chips, shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream or pickled jalapeno slices.

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, diced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon of cumin
3/4 tablespoon of chili powder
1 can of diced tomatoes
1.5 cups of chicken or vegetable broth
2 cans of black beans
salt & pepper
Toppings of your choice – tortilla chips, sour cream, grated cheese, green onion, pickled jalapenos, etc.

Recipe:
1. Heat the olive oil in a dutch oven or soup pot over medium heat. Sautee the onion for 3 minutes in the oil. Add the garlic and sautee another 2 minutes.
2. Add in the cumin and chili powder and stir for 30 seconds.
3. Add in the can of diced tomatoes, the chicken or vegetable broth and 1 can of the black beans. Bring to a simmer.
4. Using an immersion blender, blend the soup to the consistency you desire. I blended mine for approximately 2 minutes. You want to puree the soup but leave some texture. You can also transfer the soup to a blender and blend it in batches if you don’t have an immersion blender.
5. Add in the second can of black beans and bring the soup back up to a simmer. Add some salt and pepper and let it simmer for 20 minutes to let the flavors combine.
6. After 20 minutes, taste the soup for seasonings and add more salt and pepper if needed. Serve in individual bowls with the toppings of your choice!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Black Bean Soup

  1. Ani says:

    I’ve never blended by black bean soup – I have always just left it chunky but now I might have to try it!

Leave a Reply

