Asian turkey sloppy joes

turkey 1

Oh my gosh. You guys these turned out so good. I’m so excited to share the recipe with you. To be honest, I don’t cook with ground turkey all that often and I’m not sure why. It’s inexpensive, quick cooking, healthy and a blank canvas which means you can flavor it with almost anything. I was at Trader Joe’s the other day and the ground turkey was on sale so I bought a few packages even though I didn’t really have any specific dish to make in mind. I figured ground turkey was versatile enough I could find something in my pantry that would flavor it well.

I’ve been on a Thai food kick lately. My brother is in culinary school in Bangkok and he and his girlfriend visited us for the Holidays. It was great to see them and also great to eat all the authentic Thai food he cooked. I miss it dearly some days. Now that they have gone back to Thailand, I think I’m making Thai food to feel closer to them and the country I love so much. Obviously these sloppy joes are not something you would buy off the street in Thailand but they do incorporate a lot of Asian flavors, some of which are authentic in Thailand. These Asian turkey sloppy joes are delicious and healthy. I had a hard time stopping after one sandwich though. You could also serve the ground turkey mixture over rice or a salad and that would be equally declious.

turkey 3

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon of canola oil
1 pound of lean ground turkey
salt and pepper
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 knob of ginger, minced (about 1.5 teaspoons)
1 cup of broccoli slaw
1 tablespoon of soy sauce
1 tablespoon of chili paste (like sriracha)
1 teaspoon sesame oil
3 scallions, minced
1/2 cup Thai basil, chopped
4 whole grain buns
extra sriracha/chili paste for serving

Recipe:
1. Heat the canola oil over medium heat in a large skillet.
2. Add the ground turkey, season with salt and pepper, and brown for 3 minutes.
3. Add the garlic and ginger and let that cook with the turkey another 3-4 minutes until the turkey is browned.
4. Add in the broccoli slaw and stir for 1 minute.
5. Add in the soy sauce and chili paste. Stir for 1 more minute.
6. Turn off the heat and drizzle the sesame oil over the dish. Add in the scallions and basil and stir to combine.
7. Serve on whole grain buns with some extra sriracha sauce if you like it spicy.

turkey 2

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

