Thai chicken and green bean stir fry

thai stir fry 1

As part of my effort to stick to my New Year’s resolution to lose weight, eat more veggies, etc., I was browsing through the Weight Watcher’s website the other day looking through some recipes. I didn’t have any good ideas for dinner that night so I was looking for anything healthy that would spark my interest. I came across a chicken and green bean stir fry. The recipe sounded really good but I decided to change quite a few things. I made it spicier and I also put some crunchy peanuts on the top at the end. This makes it slightly higher calorie but it’s still very healthy. Plus, like most things, peanuts are good for you in moderation.

I love this dish for many reasons but one reason is because the green beans still retain their bite and crunch. I hate when green beans are cooked until they are soggy. I also love the dish because it’s healthy but also full of big flavors like fish sauce and chili paste (aka sriracha). I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 pound of boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into bite sized pieces (about 4 chicken breasts)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 small knob of ginger, minced (about a teaspoon)
12 oz of fresh green beans, each sliced into 3 pieces
1 tablespoon of fish sauce
1 tablespoon of soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon of chili paste/sauce (like sriracha)
3-4 scallions, minced
1/2 cup Thai basil, chopped
1/2 cup chopped peanuts

thai stir fry 2

Recipe:
1. Heat the canola oil over medium high heat in a large skillet.
2. When the oil is hot add the chicken and cook for 3 minutes
3. Add the garlic and ginger and continue to cook for another 3 minutes
4. Add the green beans, fish sauce, soy sauce, sugar, and chili paste and stir. Cook for 2 more minutes (you want the green beans to still have a nice bite).
5. Turn the heat off and add in the scallions and basil and stir to combine everything.
6. Sprinkle the peanuts over the top and serve with brown rice and some extra chili paste if you like it spicy.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

