An Ina Garten dinner

steak

I love Ina Garten. I love her show, own two of her cookbooks and just think she’s pretty much one of the most fabulous people around especially when it comes to entertaining and anything food related. Lately I find myself reading through her cookbooks at night looking for recipe inspiration. I often just use recipes to come up with my own ideas and wind up changing them completely but this time I pretty much followed the recipes exactly. I decided to make Ina’s mustard marinated flank steak and her green beans gremolata.

green beans

I am actually really picky when it comes to both steak and green beans. Steak has to be really tender and easy to chew. I can’t stomach it when there are any bits of gristle or fat. I actually rarely eat steak because I’m too particular about it. I’m also particular about green beans. I find they can sometimes be really bland and also really easy to overcook. Some people, like my dad, prefer green beans that have been cooked a long time but I find that this usually just makes them too mushy for my taste. So, needless to say I was skeptical about both of these recipes in Ina’s book. I was intimidated to cook with flank steak because it’s considered to be a tougher cut of meat usually and I’ve never had much luck with tenderizing it enough for my taste. I also was nervous that the green beans would be boring and not flavorful enough. I was wrong on both accounts. The marinade for the steak really DID tenderize it. It also gave the steak a ton of flavor. The gremolata for the green beans was a really interesting concept and one that I will use again on many different vegetables. It gave the beans so much flavor! The two dishes also went perfectly together and were simple to make.

I didn’t even miss the carbs with this meal which is definitely saying something!

I made a few variations to the marinated flank steak and I’ve outlined the recipe I followed below. I followed the directions exactly for the green beans recipe. Please click on the link if you would like that recipe.

Mustard marinated flank steak – adapted slightly from Ina Garten’s “Foolproof”:

1 flank steak (2 lbs)
1/3 cup white wine
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup dijon mustard
salt & pepper
1 small red onion (1/3 cup)
3 minced cloves of garlic
2 tablespoons chopped fresh tarragon leaves

1. Place the steak in a large glass dish. Lightly score the top of the steak diagonally in a large crisscross pattern to make diamond shapes across the steak

2. Whisk together the wine, olive oil, mustard, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon pepper, onion and garlic. Pour the marinade over the steak until it’s completely covered.

3. Scatter the taragon over the stop of the steak and marinade.

4. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours. I left mine in for 5 hours.

5. Remove the steak from the fridge half an hour before serving.

6. Heat some olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Remove the steak from the marinade and discard the rest of the marinade. Put the steak in the hot pan and cook 6 minutes per side for medium-rare. Place the steak on a clean plate and cover tightly with aluminum foil. Allow to rest for 10 minutes.

7. Slice the steak thin, cutting across the grain.

Green beans gremolata – from Ina Garten’s “Foolproof”

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “An Ina Garten dinner

  1. I love Ina too!!! I’ve made the green beans before…amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

