Eating light before turkey day with Asian flavored cod

cod 1

I started following weight watchers again about 2 weeks ago. I did it once before and lost about 20 pounds. Unfortunately, I’ve put all that weight back on in the last few years. I probably couldn’t have picked a worse time to start trying to lose weight. I mean Thanksgiving is two days away and there are often pre Thanksgiving events, like Friendsgiving, that are just as calorie heavy as turkey day itself. But there is always an excuse to NOT lose weight. In the summer there are barbecues and cookouts. In the winter, when it’s cold, it’s easy to load up on carbs and comfort foods like mac and cheese. Each season brings with it a number of holidays where food is involved. You have to learn how to navigate those holidays with moderation, balance, and eating well beforehand. This is one of the reasons why I love the Weight Watcher’s program so much. It’s not a “diet” in the traditional sense. It’s more of a lifestyle change.

I don’t plan on depriving myself on Thanksgiving. In fact, I am actually making these decadent mashed potatoes from the Pioneer Woman. But I do plan on doing a bit of preventative action beforehand and some damage control after. I also am going to try to work on portion control and not overly stuff myself on the big day. I love food and so it’s always going to be a part of my life. I’m not going to stop eating carbs or cheese or chips but I AM going to work on portion control, exercise, and eating those things in moderation along with lots of fruits and veggies. Life is about balance and moderation. Which is why I’ve been eating really satisfying, really healthy meals lately like this steamed Asian cod recipe. I got this idea from the Weight Watcher’s website and of course made up my own variation. It’s an incredibly easy method for steaming fish. This cod is flavorful, low calorie and delicious served along side some brown rice and roasted asparagus or some simple smashed potatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper.

Ingredients:

1 lb. uncooked cod fillet cut into 4 pieces
3 scallions minced
2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon fresh ginger root grated
2 cloves of garlic grated or finely minced
the juice of half a lemon
1 small green chili minced
1 tablespoon of sesame oil

1. Bring one inch of water to a boil in a skillet with a lid.

2. Cut a 12×18 inch piece of aluminum foil and lay the pieces of cod on the foil. Top with the scallions, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, ginger, garlic, lemon juice, green chili, and sesame oil.

3. Fold the foil into a packet making a tight seal so the fish will steam.

4. Add the foil packet to the boiling water and cover the skillet with a lid. Reduce the heat to low and let cook for 15 minutes.

5. After 15 minutes remove the fish and check to make sure it is cooked through. If it’s not cooked through reseal the packet and return it to the skillet for a few more minutes. Pour the additional tablespoon of soy sauce over the fish.

cod 2

Hope you enjoy it! It’s a meal that’s both light and satisfying. Perfect for a pre-Thanksgiving meal.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

