Crock pot BBQ chicken sandwiches

chicken 7

On busy days the slow cooker, aka crock pot, is my life saver. Yesterday was one of those busy days for me and I knew I would not feel like cooking dinner from scratch when I got home. Thankfully, I have a slow cooker. Here are just a few of the things I LOVE about the slow cooker:

1. Easy clean up. One pot.
2. Cooking food slowly (especially meat) makes it incredibly tender.
3. It makes your house smell amazing.
4. It does all the work for you. There is very little cooking involved.
5. It’s pretty much fool proof.

Now that it’s fall and the weather is getting colder I get my slow cooker out a lot more frequently. There are few things more comforting than coming home to the house smelling great and dinner already made. These crock pot BBQ chicken sandwiches are easy, require very little cleanup, and are really delicious. Matt and I both ate two huge sandwiches. Needless to say, I will be going for a longer run than usual today.

Ingredients:

1 large onion thinly sliced
4 cloves of garlic minced
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 bottles of beer
1 cup of your favorite barbecue sauce
black pepper
rolls of your choice
sliced pepperjack cheese

Recipe:

1. Put the onion and garlic in the bottom of your slow cooker.

2. Lay the chicken breasts on top of the onions and garlic and pour the 2 bottles of beer into the slow cooker.

chicken 1

3. Turn the slow cooker on high and let the chicken, onions, and garlic cook for 4 hours.

5. Remove the chicken breasts from the slow cooker and shred with two forks on a cutting board.

6. Pour the onion, garlic and beer/cooking liquid through a strainer. You want to get rid of the cooking liquid and save the onions and garlic.

7. Add the shredded chicken, onion and garlic back into the slow cooker. Pour in the barbecue sauce (I used Trader Joe’s Carolina Gold Barbecue Sauce, pictured below) and a good amount of black pepper. Mix all the ingredients well. Let it simmer on low in the slow cooker for half an hour.

chicken 2

chicken 3

8. Serve on rolls of your choice (I used onion rolls, pictured below) with pepperjack cheese.

chicken 4

chicken 5

chicken 6

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Crock pot BBQ chicken sandwiches

  1. Zia Vanger says:

    O my, o my, they look so so…. :O

Leave a Reply

