Fall flavors

pumpkin flavors 2

Although fall is not my favorite season, I happen to love the seasonal flavors of the fall like butter nut squash, apple crisp, hot chocolate, and my favorite, pumpkin. I’m having a few close friends over for dinner tonight and although I had most of the meal planned yesterday I didn’t have anything in mind for dessert. I am not much of a baker and I wanted something quick and easy because the main course and appetizers for tonight already involve quite a bit of cooking. The recipes aren’t difficult but they involve my oven and my stove top and so I was looking for an easy to assemble or no bake type of dessert. So, I headed to the grocery store for some ideas and inspiration.

Lucky for me Trader Joe’s was stocked full of delicious fall and pumpkin flavored desserts. I went a little pumpkin crazy as you can see from the picture above. They offered the obvious items like pumpkin pie and all kinds of squash, but they also offered unique items like pumpkin macaroons, sweet potato gnocchi, and Oktoberfest beer. I wound up picking up a few different varieties of seasonal beer, pumpkin cheesecake, a pumpkin and chocolate chip bar mix, the sweet potato gnocchi, and the Pièce de résistance, pumpkin flavored ice cream. This stuff is to die for. They were giving out samples in the store and the second I tried it I knew I would buy a tub of the stuff to take home.

pumpkin flavors 3

So, needless to say, we are set for our dinner party tonight. I plan on serving the pumpkin cheesecake for dessert…the pumpkin ice cream is all mine.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Fall flavors

  1. Mitzie Mee says:

    Pumpkin ice cream? I’ve never tried that but it looks yummy:)

    • Global Girl says:

      It is incredible! At least the one from Trader Joe’s. I can’t vouch for any other brands but this one was divine! Definitely not the ice cream to buy if you’re counting calories though 🙂

  2. […] I’ve actually enjoyed it. Not the cold weather, but definitely the food. Trader Joe’s pumpkin ice cream may have something to do with that. Seriously though I’ve recently realized just how […]

Leave a Reply

