Potato Leek Soup with crispy pancetta

soup 1

I was on pinterest the other day looking through some of the recipes I had pinned (read: thousands of recipes). Sometimes I go looking for new recipes instead of browsing through the delicious recipes I’ve already pinned so this time I decided to look through what I already had in my “pinterest archives”. I found SO many awesome recipes that I had forgotten about pinning. In particular, I was looking for recipes for soup. I’ve been craving soup lately I guess because it’s starting to get cold again. I found this particular soup while I was browsing and thought wow, that looks pretty delicious. Often times I find recipes and wind up changing them completely. I use the recipe for inspiration and then create my own spin-off depending on what I have on hand in my pantry and fridge and what I’m in the mood for. The pinterest recipe was a slow cooker recipe, which I definitely had not planned ahead for and I had other ingredients in my fridge that I thought would work really well with this soup. So, as usual, I changed the recipe quite a bit. Here is my version of it. I hope you love it as much as I did. For the original recipe that sparked my inspiration for this soup, click here.

I served my potato leek soup with some crispy pancetta, a dollop of sour cream and some fresh chopped chives. I also made grilled cheese sandwiches to go with the soup. What is it about soup and grilled cheese that is so comforting? Matt and I sat on our comfy couch, ate our soup and sandwiches while we watched the Breaking Bad marathon. It was a pretty perfect evening in my book!

4 oz. finely diced pancetta
3 carrots finely chopped
2 stalks of celery finely chopped
2 leeks, cut into thin rings and cleaned
6 cloves of minced garlic
1 tablespoon of fresh thyme
7 potatoes, peeled and cut into large chunks
5 cups of low sodium chicken broth/stock
salt and pepper
chives (optional)
low fat/fat free sour cream or Greek yogurt (optional)

1. In a large dutch oven or pot, sautee the pancetta until crispy. Remove the pancetta to a plate lined with a paper towel and set to the side.

2. Add the carrots, celery, leeks and garlic to the pot with the pancetta fat. Sprinkle with a good amount of salt and pepper and sautee for 2-3 minutes. Add the fresh thyme and sautee for another minute or two.

soup 2

3. Add the potatoes to the pot, sprinkle with a bit more salt and pepper and cover the potatoes and sauteed vegetables with the low sodium chicken stock. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and cover for 20 minutes, until the potatoes are fork tender and fall apart.

5. Once the potatoes are fork tender, turn off the heat and puree the soup until you get a smooth consistency or the consisteny you desire using an immersion blender (easiest and best way!) or a food processor or blender. If you use a food processor or blender, puree the soup in batches. Taste for seasonings and add more salt and pepper as needed.

soup 3

6. Transfer into individual serving bowls and top each bowl of soup with the crispy pancetta, fresh chopped chives, and a dollop sour cream or Greek yogurt.

soup 4

Eat it with a grilled cheese in front of the TV like I did ๐Ÿ™‚

soup 5

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Potato Leek Soup with crispy pancetta

  1. That looks so yummy! I do that too, I find pictures on Pinterest that I like and then go about creating my own version ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

