A salad I would order again

IMG_2610

If I’m being honest I generally hate ordering salads when I’m out to eat. It always seems like such a waste. There are usually so many other things on the menu I would rather be eating than a boring old salad. Don’t get me wrong, there are definitely moments when I crave salad and when made with fresh, good quality ingredients salads can be really yummy. But for the most part when I’m out to eat I always want to try other things on the menu. It’s pretty easy to skip over the salad section.

One day while we were vacationing in Maui we stopped for lunch at Duke’s Beach House and I was feeling like something healthy and refreshing. A salad fit the bill. The arugula and farro salad jumped out at me immediately and I quickly placed my order. When it arrived at the table, I wasn’t the least bit disappointed. It was so colorful and both satisfying and light at the same time. The peppery arugula was topped with perfectly cooked farro and roasted vegetables (you all know how much I love to roast my veggies), which paired beautifully with the tangy goat cheese and basil lemon vinaigrette. The salad also came with cucumbers, tomatoes, olives and a well seasoned, grilled swordfish steak. It’s not often that I eat a salad worth writing about. But this truly satisfied all my cravings and I would order it again.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A salad I would order again

  1. Mitzie Mee says:

    I love the colors of the sald, and Maui doesn’t sound too bad either:)

  2. gwynnem says:

    I feel the same way about salads. If I can make it myself just as well, I’d rather seek out a dish that’s more complicated.

Leave a Reply

