Breakfast for one

breakfast

I’ve mentioned in previous posts that breakfast is generally a very rushed meal for me. I’m also not all that hungry in the morning, at least at 6:30am when I get up. Usually, breakfast consists of some sort of fruit, cheese stick and a big glass of water. I enjoy my sleep, so on weekdays breakfast has to be something quick and something I can just grab and run out the door with. The only time I truly look forward to and enjoy breakfast is when I’m on vacation or traveling. Then it becomes one of my favorite meals. I love a good omelette and some toast when I’m on vacation but that’s because I have the time and I also usually sleep in and so I’m definitely more hungry when I wake up at 10:00am.

This past Saturday I had a free morning alone. I laid in bed and watched Food Network until 10:00am, went for a jog with Maggie (my dog) and when I got back I was pretty hungry but it was definitely too early for lunch and I didn’t feel like my usual fruit and cheese breakfast. I wanted something delicious and substantial. I opened the fridge to see what I had. I roasted some baby zucchini the night before and there was some of that leftover and we always have eggs so I pulled both of those two things out. I grabbed an onion from the basket on the counter and grated some sharp cheddar cheese (a generous portion). It looked like I had what I needed to make a pretty decent breakfast for one.

Scrambled eggs with roasted zucchini and cheddar cheese

Ingredients (serves 1)
2 eggs
a splash of milk (I used skim)
1/4 of an onion
baby zucchini (I used 4 in this recipe, but roasted the whole batch the night before)
1/4 cup sharp white cheddar cheese (or however much you like. Feel free to pile it on)
olive oil
salt and pepper

1. Start by roasting the baby zucchini. If you can’t find baby zucchini you can use regular zucchini and just cut it into smaller chunks. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut each zucchini in half and lay on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive and sprinkle with salt and pepper and toss to coat. Lay in an even layer and put the zucchini into the 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.
2. Remove the zucchini from the oven and let cool slightly. Take four of the roasted zucchini and cut them into bite sized chunks. Set to the side for the time being.
3. Heat a skillet over medium low heat and add about 1 tablespoon of olive oil.
4. Finely chop 1/4 of an onion and add to the oil. Let cook for 5 minutes or until the onion is translucent and starts to brown slightly.
5. Add the 4 diced zucchini and cook for another few minutes.
6. In a bowl, whisk together two eggs and a splash of milk (about a tablespoon).
7. Add the beaten eggs and milk to the zucchini and onion and stir over medium low heat for 1-2 minutes until the eggs are scrambled. I like my eggs pretty firm, but if you like your scrambled eggs a bit softer and runnier cook them a little less. Stir in some salt and pepper to taste.
8. Remove the skillet from the heat and sprinkle the cheese over the scrambled eggs and veggies. Let the cheese melt in the pan.
9. Transfer the eggs to a separate bowl and enjoy.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Breakfast for one

  1. Deena Kakaya says:

    Lovely lovely! I do a similar one and add slow roasted tomato at the end x

Leave a Reply

