Easy, flavorful marinade for beef stir fry

beef 2

I am constantly looking for easy meat dishes I can make. I could live off of carbs and veggies if I had to (I’m all about the side dishes) but Matt can’t so I’m always trying to find dishes that incorporate meat, which is why I’m so happy I’ve found this versatile marinade. It’s an adaptation of Ina Garten’s Indonesian grilled swordfish. I have no idea if this is authentically Indonesian, but I doubt it. Either way, this marinade is so simple and incredibly delicious. You could use it on any kind of meat you like. Ina uses it on swordfish. I’ve used it on chicken breasts before and then grilled them. The chicken came out so tender and full of flavor. This time I tried it on thinly sliced stir fry beef. It came out equally delicious. This is one you will want to keep on hand. I promise!

beef 3

Adapted from Ina Garten’s Indonesian Grilled Swordfish

Ingredients:

1/3 cup soy sauce (low sodium)
1/3 cup canola oil plus 1 tablespoon for stir frying
Juice of 2 lemons
Zest of 1 lemon
6 garlic cloves grated or minced
1 large nob of grated ginger (1-2 tablespoons)
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
1 serrano chile (or any chile really)
1/2 cup chopped chilantro
1.5 pounds thinly sliced stir fry beef/steak

beef 1

1. In a large bowl whisk together all ingredients except for the beef and extra oil for stir frying.
2. Once the marinade is combined add the beef to the marinade and stir until all the meat is covered with the marinade. Cover and place in the fridge to marinate for at least 4 hours. You can leave it overnight if you prefer.
3. Heat 1 tablespoon of canola oil in a large skillet (I used a cast iron skillet for a good sear) over medium high heat. Once the pan is hot, add the beef to the pan. You may have to do this in 2 batches depending on how large your pan is. Don’t overcrowd the meat. Stir until beef is cooked through and has a nice sear on all sides, about 5-6 minutes. Add in a little of the left over marinade and let the meat cook for an extra minute in the marinade.
4. Remove the beef and any juices/marinade to a separate plate and let rest for 5 minutes.
5. Serve over jasmine rice.

beef 4

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

