Spicy Chipotle Beef

spicy beef 2

When I say spicy, I mean spicy. This recipe actually cuts down on the amount of chipotle peppers I used in the version I made last night. I had used two 7 oz. cans of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce in the recipe I made and it about blew my socks off. Growing up in Asia, I can handle the spice so I still really enjoyed it, but for most people I think one 7 oz. can of chipotle peppers is plenty. I love the flavor of chipotle peppers but I am not all that familiar with cooking with them, just eating them. So I really wasn’t sure how many peppers or cans to use. Like I said, two cans turned out to be a bit too much.

I got this idea from a recipe I found on the pioneer woman’s blog but really this version is a different recipe entirely. I actually originally wanted to try this recipe out in my slow cooker but I didn’t plan ahead yesterday. This does take 2-3 hours to cook so be sure to factor that in if you’re making this for dinner. It’s delicious served over a baked potato or rice with a dollop of sour cream and a little extra cilantro.

spicy beef 1

Ingredients:
2 pounds cubed beef round
1 7 oz. can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
1 4 oz. can green chilies
6 cloves minced garlic
1 onion
1.5 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
3 cups beef broth
1 tablespoon masa corn flour
Water
Oil
Salt and pepper
1/2 cup cilantro (plus extra for serving)

Recipe:
1. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large dutch oven over medium heat.
2. Add the beef cubes to the dutch oven and cook them until brown, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
3. Add in the onion and cook for another 2-3 minutes.
4. Add the garlic cloves, spices, green chilies, and chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. Stir all the ingredients together.
5. Add the 3 cups of beef broth and bring up to a boil.
6. Lower the heat and cover. Let it cook for 2-3 hours until the beef is really tender. Stir occasionally and break up the chipotle peppers throughout the cooking time.
7. In the last half hour of cooking time, in a separate bowl mix together one tablespoon of masa corn flour and 1-2 tablespoons of water. Add the flour water mixture to the beef and stir. Leave uncovered and cook for another half hour.
8. Turn off the heat and mix in 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro.

Spicy, smokey, and delicious!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Spicy Chipotle Beef

  1. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    Global Girl’s Blog, your recipe turned to be worth the time .I and my wife and the neighbors enjoyed it.Thank you so much for liking my post ( Loving my woman ……) Wishing you success.Jalal

  2. […] in my fridge and pantry. I happened to have some beef stew meat in the freezer and decided to make spicy chipotle beef. I didn’t have fresh cilantro so I had to omit that but other than that I followed my recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

