My quick and easy Thursday night dinner

This dinner is one of the fastest ones I’ve ever whipped up. The two dishes I created don’t necessarily go together but I happened to be trying to use up left overs so I made them in the same night. One dish, I can’t take credit for. It’s from Trader Joe’s frozen department. The other dish, I can take credit for and it consists of only 5 ingredients.

shrimp

It started because I wanted to cook up Trader Joe’s frozen Thai lime shrimp skewers to try. However, I had just made couscous the other night and I didn’t feel like making rice. Plus I already had some leftover whole grain pasta from the night before when I made my favorite zucchini and mushroom pasta. So even though pasta and Thai flavored shrimp on skewers don’t go toghether, I decided to use up the leftovers in my fridge. The pasta actually may sound like a pretty weird concoction but it actually works and it’s so easy to throw together.

shrimp 2

The shrimp skewers were even easier. Already marinated and on skewers, you just throw the frozen shrimp in a skillet, preheated over medium heat, and cook for about 5 minutes on 1 side, and 2 minutes on the second side. Gosh, these were good. I highly recommend them.

pasta

For the pasta you will need:

4 cups of cooked whole grain rotini
3 laughing cow swiss cheese wedges
3/4 cup of chicken stock
8-10 cherry tomatoes halved
1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

1. Start by heating the chicken stock in a medium sauce pan over medium heat.

2. Once the stock starts to simmer, add in the laughing cow cheese and whisk the cheese into the chicken stock until there are no lumps of cheese and the sauce is smooth.

3. Turn the heat off and toss the pasta, cherry tomatoes and parmesan cheese with the sauce.

Voila! So easy, and pretty darn tasty.

pasta 2

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “My quick and easy Thursday night dinner

  1. izabi says:

    Hi , I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger Award.Check it out here
    http://ahohomemadefood.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/versatile-blogger-award/
    congrats! おめでとう!

Leave a Reply

