Spicy Cucumber Martini

cocktail

I should tell you right off the bat that I did not create this delicious cocktail. I simply ordered it at one of my favorite happy hours. It sounds awful, doesn’t it? My friend had been raving about it and recommended I try it, but I was skeptical. It just didn’t sound good to me. I’m pretty picky when it comes to cocktails. I hate anything too sweet. And I usually don’t order martinis. They’re either too strong or too sweet for me. I’m more of a margarita or glass of wine kind of girl. Although I do love those sweet slushy style cocktails you order when you’re on vacation, like classic pina coladas and strawberry daquiries. I mean, who doesn’t love those?

So, needless to say I was skeptical. But we went to Big Fish for happy hour one day and since I pride myself on being an adventurous eater, I said okay, I’d try it. But I truly expected to hate it. Side note, if you live in the central Jersey area check out Big Fish in Princeton for happy hour. They’ve got $2 appetizers and cocktails starting at just $3. The food is very good if you choose to stop in for lunch or dinner as well. They emphasize fresh seafood and local ingredients. Anyway, back to the cocktail. The spicy cucumber martini actually isn’t on the happy hour list, but it’s so worth ordering. I took my first sip and I was hooked. It’s the perfect combination of sour and sweet, with a hint of a spicy kick in the background. I think the waitress said she used some kind of jalapeno agave syrup? But I could be wrong. The cocktail is a pale green color and comes garnished with a long, thin slice of cucumber. Anyway, it’s a dangerous cocktail and it definitely is one of my favorites.

Do you have a favorite cocktail?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

