Left over night

pasta 2

Sunday night is usually the night I am super lazy and sit around watching Real Housewives of Atlanta and eating everything in sight. What is it about Sunday night that makes me want to eat the world?? Anyway, this Sunday night my fridge looked pretty boring so, after surveying the left over items in the fridge, I decided I needed to cook something. I rarely cook on Sunday night, but since I didn’t really have anything edible pre-made, I didn’t have much of a choice, and this pasta dish was actually so incredibly easy that I don’t even consider it cooking.

The contents I pulled out of my fridge to make the pasta were:

– 1 cup cherry tomatoes halved

– 1 cup store bought pesto

– 1/2 cup greek yogurt

– 1/2 cup chicken stock

– 3/4 lb. penne pasta

– some left over rotisserie chicken (about 3/4 cup bite sized pieces)

– 1 tbsp. olive oil

– grated parmesan cheese (optional)

pasta

Here’s how I made it:

Boil water and cook the pasta according to package directions. While the pasta is cooking, heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add in the chicken and let it cook for 3 minutes until the chicken is warmed through. Next add the cherry tomatoes and cook for another minute or so. Next add in the pesto, Greek yogurt and chicken stock (a little at a time at first until you get the consistency you want) to thin out the sauce and stir to combine.

Let the sauce simmer over low heat until everything is nicely combined and warmed through. Toss the sauce with the penne pasta once it’s cooked, and sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese. Serves about 4. Easy Peasy!

The Greek yogurt really adds a nice tangy flavor to an otherwise tradditional pesto sauce.

pasta 3

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

