A salad worth writing about

Generally I don’t think of a salad as needing a recipe. I know there are some good salads out there, but when I make one I usually just put some lettuce in a bowl, add a few toppings and some bottled dressing to make it taste good and call it a day. I don’t really take the time to prepare a salad. Salads are usually the precursor to the main meal; Something to just fill you up so you don’t overeat later. It’s very rare that I find a salad that I actually like almost more than the main course and that I actually look forward to eating, but this salad is pretty good. If I found it worth writing about, it’s actually a pretty darn good salad.

This salad is very simple, but you will need a few quality ingredients:

10 oz. of spring lettuce mix (or any lettuce you prefer)

2 tbsp sundried tomatoes packed in oil, drained and chopped

1 cup cherry tomatoes halved

1/2 of 1 large cucumber peeled and chopped

2/3 cup fresh mozzarella bocconcini (bite sized) cut in halves

1/2 of 1 red onion sliced thin

8-10 good Kalamata olives, pitted

In a large bowl, toss all the above ingredients together.

The dressing.

I very rarely make my own salad dressing, but this salad has inspired me to start. It’s so simple and this way you know exactly what ingredients are going into the dressing. Sometimes the bottled dressings can be over powering for me anyway. There are a wide variety of vinaigrettes you can make, and this site is a great resource for those looking to make their own salad dressings. I made the Italian variation but really most of the vinaigrettes listed would work well. For the Italian variation, whisk all the below ingredients together and pour over the salad. Toss and Enjoy!

For the vinaigrette:

4 tablespoons of oil

3 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 small clove of garlic minced

1/2 tsp of dried Italian seasoning

red pepper flakes, 1 pinch

salt and pepper to taste

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A salad worth writing about

  1. erika says:

    Mmm I love fresh mozzarella in salad and making my own salad dressing too! I love putting in juices–like orange juice, especially for salads with kale. Great salad to write about!

Leave a Reply

