Brussels Sprouts

Before you say ew, hear me out. I know brussels sprouts are not the most popular veggie out there, but that’s because a lot of people aren’t sure how to cook them. Truth be told, brussels sprouts are a favorite vegetable of mine, because if they are cooked right, they can have great flavor and they are very good for you. They are actually pretty simple to prepare.

There are generally two ways I cook with brussels sprouts. Sometimes, I flash boil them (really quickly) for about 1-2 minutes and then sautee them with a little butter or olive oil, bacon, onion, garlic and salt and pepper. Sometimes I’ll add a splash of balsamic vinegar in too. Delicious. By the way, vinegar goes great with any sort of bitter green like kale, spinach, or brussels sprouts. Anyway, the second way I cook brussels sprouts, and perhaps my favorite way to cook them, is to roast them in the oven, which is the easiest thing ever! The picture of the brussels sprouts above is what they look like after they’ve been roasted. Roasting vegetables does something amazing to the vegetables. They become sweet and carmelized. I roast just about everything, peppers, broccoli, cabbage, onions, kale, beets, etc. You name it.

Here is how I roast the brussels sprouts. I’m telling you, it’s so simple and easy.

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. Rinse the brussels sprouts and cut off the brown ends. Remove the outer leaves. Then, slice the brussels sprouts in half and set aside.

2. Lay the brussels sprouts on a sheet pan (or stoneware baking dish, which is what I use) and drizzle a generous amount of olive oil over them. Sprinkle them with salt and pepper.

3. With your hands, toss the brussels sprouts in the olive oil, salt and pepper until they are coated evenly. Lay them in a single layer (make sure they are not over crowded) on the baking sheet.

4. Place them in the 400 degree oven and roast them for about 35-40 minutes. I take them out halfway through and toss them with a spatula to ensure even cooking and browning and then place them back in the oven. After about 35-40 minutes, take them out and let them cool. They should be carmelized on the outside and tender on the inside.

That’s it! It’s fool proof, and it’s the best way to eat brussels sprouts! There are also tons of variations you can try out. For instance, I’ve added minced garlice about halfway through the cooking time and put the brussels sprouts back in with the garlic. The garlic adds a sweet flavor. Or, try adding shards of parmesan cheese at the end for a nice salty bite.

So, don’t cross off brussels sprouts from your list. They can make a delicious vegetable side dish.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts

  1. I wouldn’t say eew, I love Brussels Sprouts!

  2. nijah06 says:

    Yummy I love Brussels sprouts when other people cook them but when i cook them forgetaboutit they turn out to be one big mess.I need some suggestions on how to make them tasty .Can I make a dip with brussel sprouts.Your dish look good.

  3. Sprouts are fantastic, many people were perhaps put off when they were children, perhaps the flavour is not right for the younger palate? I love them though despite their gaseous consequences.

  4. gwynnem says:

    Couldn’t agree with you more that these little veggies are heavenly when cooked properly. I used to dislike them. Now, I crave them!

Leave a Reply

