Kyma Restaurant in Somerville, NJ

I feel incredibly blessed to live in an area with great restaurants and only 45 minutes away from New York City, home to some of the greatest restaurants in the world. When we want to go out to dinner, our options are seemingly limitless. Thai, Indian, Greek, Italian, you name it and we can easily find it.

Since Matt and I honeymooned in Greece, I am a little obsessed with the food, the culture and everything else so I am always excited when I find an authentic Greek restaurant in New Jersey. I am lucky enough to have two friends who are from Greece and know the best Greek restaurants in the area. So, when they suggested we meet at Kyma in Somerville, NJ for lunch, I knew I was in for a treat. Kyma did not disappoint…

It was the best meal I’ve had in a long time. Kyma offers both classic dishes like Moussaka, Souvlaki and Horiatiki (Greek Salad) as well as more modern dishes. Everything, from the appetizers to the main course to the dessert, was delicious. It was truly an enjoyable and unique experience and some of the best Greek food I’ve had in the area. Enjoy the pictures and if you’re ever in the area, stop by.

Complimentary bread and pita served with one of the most unique spreads I’ve ever had – beets pureed with feta and jalapenos. Delicious!

Greek Salad

Keftedes – Greek meatballs served with a yogurt mint sauce

Grilled oysters topped with cheese and herbs – Another benefit to having Greek friends is that they know the owners. So, these delicious oysters were complimentary.

Dolmades – these grape leaves were served warm and stuffed with rice and herbs.

Souvlaki

Moussaka

Iced Key Lime Pie – it was key lime ice cream in a pie crust, perfect for summer.

Galaktoboureko – Layers of Phyllo filled with custard

Ice cream flavored with figs and ouzo

My favorite – crepe stuffed with nutella and bananas and drizzled with all kinds of chocolatey goodness

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Kyma Restaurant in Somerville, NJ

  1. Sarah says:

    Greek food is the best! I know it’s predictable, but I always fall for greek salads. They’re just so good! It must be the cheese 🙂

Leave a Reply

