Pizza Pizza

I love homemade pizza. Well, I love eating the homemade pizza. I HATE rolling out the dough because it never seems to cooperate with me, but once I have that part done, I enjoy the rest of the process – i.e. the toppings, and the eating. Normally I just go with plain pizza dough and then I top it with whatever I’m in the mood for. However, I was shopping at Trader Joe’s the other day and I saw they had flavored pre-made pizza dough and I figured I’d give it a whirl. I decided to try the garlic & herb pizza dough.

If you love pizza, I highly recommend investing in some stoneware bakeware. Pizza stones, or even stoneware baking sheets, make all the difference in creating that perfect pizza crust. Regular baking sheets just can’t cut it. And, I use my stoneware baking sheets for EVERYTHING, not just pizza. It’s great for roasting vegetables or really anything in the oven. It also takes a long time for something to burn on a stoneware baking sheet, which is perfect for people like me who hate baking.

Okay…enough with the stoneware bakeware push…Back to the pizza. Normally, when I make pizza, I like to keep the toppings fairly simple. In fact, my favorite homemade pizza is topped with olive oil, sliced fresh tomatoes, fresh mozzarella slices and a few dollops of basil pesto. I decided to go a different route this time. Here’s the ingredients I used and how I make my pizza:

Ingredients:

3 tomatoes thinly sliced

10 fresh basil leaves roughly chopped

1.5 – 2 cooked Italian sausage thinly sliced (I used a combination of sweet and spicy)

3/4 cup fresh mozzarella thinly sliced

1-2 tbsp sundried tomatoes chopped

you favorite pizza dough (I used Trader Joe’s garlic & herb pizza dough)

 

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. If you have a pizza stone, put it in the oven while it preheats so the pizza stone gets hot.

2. While the oven is preheating, roll out the pizza dough. I am NOT an expert at this, so I don’t have any tips on rolling out the perfect pizza dough. I just try and get it into a semi-circular shape and make sure there are no holes in it.

3. Once the oven is preheated, remove the pizza stone and carefully lay the pizza dough on the stone. Put the pizza dough into the oven and let it cook for 10 minutes.

4. Remove the pizza dough – it should be slightly golden brown and partially cooked.

5. Layer the tomato slices, sausage slices, sun dried tomatoes, and mozzarella slices. Layer the mozzarella on last.

6. Put the entire pizza back into the oven for another 10 minutes, or until the mozzarella is bubbly and brown.

7. Remove the pizza and top with the fresh basil.

8. Slice up and enjoy!

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pizza Pizza

  1. Ambro Wright says:

    Your pizza looks amazing! That dough..I must try some.

  2. ekwee says:

    Maybe my lack of stoneware bakeware is why my pizza always comes out subpar at home! Nice tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

