Hello Summer Salad

I am so proud of this salad. I really shouldn’t be because it’s so incredibly simple. But I get so excited when I create a dish on my own from scratch and the flavors actually meld together perfectly.

I just returned from a trip to the Outer Banks in North Carolina. My husband and I stayed in a house his family had rented for the week for a family reunion. One night, for dinner, one of his aunts put together an orzo salad with shrimp and fresh herbs. It was so delicious and perfect for a summer meal. The meal definitely gave me the inspiration I needed to create a fresh salad of my own.

I call it my “Hello Summer” salad because it truly is reminiscent of all things Summer. The flavors are cool and refreshing. If you wanted to serve this as a main dish instead of a side, it probably would be delicious on top of some roasted shrimp or even on top of pasta.

Ingredients:

1.5 pints halved cherry tomatoes

1 can drained and rinsed chick peas

3/4 cup crumbled feta

1/4 cup chopped fresh dill

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

the juice of half of a lemon

3 tbsp olive oil

3 scallions chopped (both white and green parts)

salt and pepper to taste

Mix the tomatoes, scallions, and chickpeas in a large bowl. Add in the crumbled feta and herbs. Next, drizzle in the olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper and mix well. Enjoy!

You really can’t screw this up. Use as much or as little of the ingredients as you like. It’s really a salad made according to your taste…some people might like less herbs, more feta, etc. Either way, it’s a winner salad!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Hello Summer Salad

  1. adaisygarden says:

    Looks and sounds delicious. I’ll have to give it a try!

  2. I grew up eating this salad exact salad, minus the chickpeas. Ill make sure to add them next time I make it. It’s one of my favorites 🙂

  3. […] mentioned in a previous blog post that while we were vacationing in North Carolina with my husbands family, his aunt made a shrimp […]

Leave a Reply

