Grilled smoky peppers

Gotta love grilling in the Summer. The two almost go hand in hand. Last night I broke out the cuisinart grill/griddle for some marinated grilled chicken. I was trying to figure out what I would cook as far as vegetables go and I remembered that I had a few orange bell peppers in the fridge that I needed to use up. Generally, I would probably just cut them up and eat them raw, dipped in a little blue cheese dressing (my fave!), but I was in an adventurous mood I guess. I figured since I was already grilling the chicken, why not grill the peppers too? I brainstormed and shuffled through my spice cabinet to see what I could put on the peppers to give them a little more flavor, although, quite frankly, grilling them gives them great flavor on their own. I settled on cumin and chili powder. I thought it would give the peppers a great smoky taste, and I just love the way cumin smells in general.

Ingredients for grilled, smoky peppers:

cooking spray or olive oil for grill

3 orange (you could use red or yellow) bell peppers cut into thick slices (3 or 4 slices per pepper)

1 tsp of cumin

1 tsp of chili powder

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper

1. Turn grill on and let preheat – high heat.

2. Spray your grill with cooking spray, or brush with olive oil.

3. While the grill is preheating, sprinkle the pepper slices with salt and pepper.

4. In a bowl, whisk together the cumin, chili powder, and olive oil. Set aside.

5. Once the grill is hot, add the pepper slices to the grill.

6. Using a brush (or spoon), brush the cumin, chili powder and olive oil mixture on the peppers.

7. after about 3-4 minutes (pepper should have nice grill marks), flip the peppers and brush the other side (the already grilled side) with the cumin, chili powder and olive oil mixture.

8.Cook the peppers another 3-4 minutes until they are nicely charred. Remove from the grill.

9. If necessary, sprinkle with a little more salt and pepper at the end.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Grilled smoky peppers

  1. I have to say that there is nothing better that roasted peppers! They are such a great taste to almost any dish!

Leave a Reply

