A day at the doggie beach

I love the beach. And I love Maggie (my puppy). So I jumped at the chance to bring her to the beach. Since it’s off season right now, I planned to bring her to the regular beach and walk her on-leash. It’s a good thing I didn’t do this, because we found out that dogs are not allowed on the beach/boardwalk after April (at least in Manasquan. I haven’t checked with other beaches). Before we left our apartment, Matt decided to look online and see if there were any off-leash beaches for dogs. So, using trusty google search, we came across this website, http://www.bringfido.com/, and found a dog beach in Manasquan that looked promising. We decided to give it a whirl.

Maggie is only about 10 months old, and she is not typically fond of water. She happens to be afraid of her own shadow and is one of the most timid dogs I’ve ever seen. I really had no idea how beach day would go over. We brought my parent’s dog, Sophie, who Maggie just adores, along with us in the hopes that maybe if Sophie were to swim and have fun, Maggie would too.

Turns out, it worked! Never in a million years did I think Maggie would get in the water. I thought she’d have fun running along the edge and sniffing/digging in the sand, but I had my doubts that she would ever be a swimmer. After much initial coaxing and eventually just dragging her in, she LOVED it. She ran through the waves with Sophie and the other dogs and they had a great time. I was even able to work on my tan and relax on a blanket while they played.

We stopped and had lunch at Gee Gee’s on the boardwalk. We originally planned to try a dog friendly restaurant, but after reviewing the rules, we realized we didn’t bring their licenses with us and all dogs are required to show their tags before they can enter. However, it was still the perfect trip to start off the summer. Beach day with the dogs and some yummy summer boardwalk food!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

