Zucchini Corn Skillet

I was running out of things to do with vegetables and getting bored with the way I usually cook them. I love roasting vegetables with olive oil, salt, and pepper (and sometimes crushed garlic), but sometimes you gotta switch things up. I’m always looking for ways to eat more veggies, so I googled for some inspiration. I came across this recipe for a corn and zucchini melody and decided I would shake things up and try to make my own variation on this dish. I always find that googling and searching the internet for recipes gives me ideas to come up with my own. I either never have all the ingredients on hand so I improvise, or I decide to add to the recipe, or sometimes, I find that searching for recipes simply gets my creative juices flowing and I come up with my own. In this case, I used the base of the recipe, but I definitely added my own twist to it. Here is my take on how to make a delicious corn and zucchini skillet. It’s the perfect side dish for summer.

What you need:

5 zucchini diced

1 red onion diced

3 cloves of garlic minced

6 slices of bacon

shredded mozzarella cheese (about 3/4 cup)

1 large tomato chopped

1 large can of corn (yellow or white, doens’t matter)

1 tsp of dried dillweed (fresh is even better. I just did not have any on hand)

1 tsp of dried parsley (or use fresh!)

salt & pepper to taste

1. In a large skillet cook the 6 slices of bacon. Once crisp, remove the bacon and let it drain on a paper towel. Reserve about a tablespoon of the bacon drippings for the vegetables

2. Add the chopped onion and garlic to the bacon drippings and let them sautee for about a minute

3. Add the zuccini and let cook for 10 minutes until the zucchini begins to soften

4. Add the corn and stir for another 5 minutes

5. Add the chopped tomato, salt, pepper, parsley and dill and cook for another 5 minutes until everything is nicely combined

6. Turn the heat off and crumble the bacon over the top of the vegetable

7. Sprinkle as much shredded cheese as you like over the top. The cheese will melt over the vegetables and bacon

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

