Blackened Tuna

I had no idea how easy “blackening” something was. I love the taste, the spice, and the crispy crust you get when meat is blackened. At restaurants, especially seafood restaurants, if there is an option to order a fresh fish or a piece of chicken blackened I usually go for it. I never really thought to give it a try myself. The truth is, blackening something is so incredibly simple. Who knew that blackening something is as easy as buying the cajun (or blackening) seasoning from the grocery store, coating the meat in it, and then searing it in a hot pan with oil and butter?

I didn’t come up with the idea on my own. I found this recipe  for blackened tuna on allrecipes.com (which is a great site) and basically replicated it. The only change I made was instead of using a regular non-stick pan, I used a cast iron skillet. I honestly don’t know if that makes much of a difference, but my blackened tuna came out perfect, with that famous crispy crust that all blackened items are supposed to have. I served it with some asian veggies (curtesy of the Trader Joe’s frozen section) and a big bowl of salty edamame. I was icredibly proud of this meal. This will not be the last time I blacken something. I have a bag of frozen shrimp in my freezer that I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with. Maybe I’ll come up with a blackened recipe of my own. Stay tuned!

Edamame

 

Searing the tuna – Warning: your kitchen will get very smoky!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Blackened Tuna

  1. I’m a vegetarian, but this looks yum even to me! When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some bread pudding and would love to heat what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

