Lentils – the easy way

Lentils are not a hard thing to cook, but I’ve noticed they can take a long time to absorb liquid and become tender. I’ve discovered an even easier way to prepare a lentil dish. I buy pre-cooked lentils from Trader joes. It cuts my cooking time in half!

There’s a fool proof recipe I always use when I cook lentils. It comes out perfect and delicious every time. It involves uncooked lentils, bacon, chicken stock, celery, carrots, onion and thyme. However, since I hadnt’ been grocery shopping in over 2 weeks, I was out of at least half of the ingredients I would need for the recipe, the main one being the chicken stock! And cooking lentils in water didn’t sound appealing to me. Then I remembered I had an already cooked package sitting in my fridge and so, this is the recipe I came up with:

What you need:

1 package of pre-cooked lentils

4 strips of bacon

2 tsp of fresh thyme leaves

1 onion chopped

1 red bell pepper chopped

6 cloves of garlic minced

white wine vinegar

water to thin it out

salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1. cook the strips of bacon in a skillet over medium heat until they are crispy. Remove them from the skillet, let them cool and drain on a paper towel. Then, crumble the bacon into bite sized pieces.

2. Cook the onion, garlic and bell pepper in the bacon drippings until the vegetables begin to look translucent.

3. Add the package of cooked lentils and stir.

4. Add the water, a little bit at a time, until you get the consistency that you like.

5. Add the thyme leaves and let the vegetables, lentils, water, and thyme leaves simmer together for 5 minutes

6. Next, crumble in the bacon

7. Add a dash of the white wine vinegar (about a tsp) and let everything cook together for another 5 minutes

Easy as pie šŸ™‚

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Lentils – the easy way

  1. cookvegi says:

    LOve lentils and cook with them a lot, always worried the pre done ones will go to soft, are they ok? I do find green take ages to cook.

    I have a few lentil recipes on my blog, its a simple blog as can’t jazz it up on my phone, but does have some yumm recipes on. cookvegi.wordpress.com

  2. The key to using the pre-cooked ones is to not cook them as long! They turned out fine, but like I said, I only cooked them for 10 minutes at most! I will check out your recipes šŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

