Diet Food

I am, by no means, an expert when it comes to dieting. I am not a health guru, personal trainer, or dietician. I’m just someone who tries to eat in moderation and also happens to enjoy indulging in not-so-good-for-you-foods on occasion. I’m also a Weight Watcher’s member. The reason I like the Weight Watcher program is because it doesn’t restrict any foods. The program is not so much a diet, as it is a healthy lifestyle, based on eating more fruits and vegetables, exercising, and smaller portions. It’s a more realistic approach to weight loss, which is what I like about it so much. In addition to this, the point system and weekly weigh-ins keep me accountable.

Even though I don’t really like the term, “diet food”, there are a number of foods that I consider to be my lifesavers on a program like this. For all you “dieters” out there, and even you non-dieters, here is my list of Weight Watcher worthy foods and just in case you follow Weight Watchers too, I’ve listed the point value next to each item. These are staples in my pantry and fridge and have helped me in the past when I need to lose a few pounds.

Orville Redenbacher’s 94% fat-free popcorn – 1 individual serving = 1 point!

CJ, all natural mini chicken wontons with chicken and cilantro – 4 Wontons = 1 point

CP Shrimp & Wonton soup (I found this at Costco) – 3 points

Chocolate Vitamuffins (topped with fat-free cool whip and raspberries or strawberries) – 3 Points

Weight Watchers string cheese – 1 point. Honestly this string cheese tastes better than some of the other more fattening string cheeses

Vegetable soup – 2 points

Dill pickles (or most pickles) – 0 points per serving

Top Crop Fresh Salsa – 0 points per serving

Special K Cracker Chips – 3 points per serving (which is 27 chips!!!)

 

What are some of your snack secrets??

 

Leave a Reply

