Plane necessities

As a frequent flyer, I’ve found that there are a few items that really come in handy on an airplane. It always makes me laugh when someone refers to their “long flight” from New Jersey to California. 5-6 hours does not constitute as long. After spending most of my childhood flying back and forth, literally to the other side of the world, from Bangkok to New York, anything under 8 hours is a walk in the park. However, whether it be a short or long flight, there are items that every traveler should bring with them. Whether it be an actual necessity, someting to pass the time with, or something designed to enhance comfort, these are the things I bring on an airplane whenever I travel anywhere (short or long).

1. Tylenol (or other pain relief meds) – When there’s a kid screaming on a plane and you already have a killer headache, you’ll want to take something.

2. Headphones & an ipod – This is kind of a no-brainer. Headphones, so you won’t have to buy them on the plane for the in-flight movie (if it’s a long trip), and an ipod because listening to music makes everything so much better.

3. Books – lots of them. Flying is a great way to catch up on reading. I will not fly without something to read.

4. A change of clothes – pack a change of clothes in your carry-on. Yes, luggage does get lost and if you have to go a couple days without your suitcase, an extra change of clothes can be a life saver.

6. Sudoku – or any quiet game you like.

7. Water & snacks – I always purchase a water bottle and snacks after I get through security. The little cups of water they give on the airplane just don’t cut it for me.

8. Neck pillow – Okay, I actually don’t have one of these, but I really want to get one. My husband has one and I’m always jealous. It’s nice to have a place to rest your head, especially if you have the middle seat.

9. Sweatshirt – sometimes planes get cold. In fact, I usually dress in layers for this reason. If it gets hot or cold, you’re covered.

10. Camera – This is definitely not a necessity, but I love to take pictures out the window, especially when I’m taking off or landing.

11. Gum – for preventing ear-popping.

So, there you go. Did I miss anything major? What do you bring on an airplane to help make the travel process more enjoyable?

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Plane necessities

  1. Luke Heikkila says:

    I’m about to take the longest flight of my life…Atlanta to Dubai…and I’ve asked this question and received answers that you covered in your blog. Warm socks, toothbrush, eye mask, e-reader are a few other things to consider.

  2. That is a long flight! Bring LOTS of books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

