Sometimes you just need to eat pasta..

Yes, sometimes you just need to say yes to that craving and EAT PASTA. However, that doesn’t mean you need to scarf down a whole box of Kraft macaroni & cheese. Everything in moderation, and it turns out (surprise!), there are ways to make eating pasta actually healthy. Who knew, right?

Here is a low-cal, Vegan, Daniel fast approved recipe I used. I’m not gonna lie, it wasn’t as tasty as other more fattening pasta dishes, but it was pretty darn good and it satisfied my pasta craving. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. Does anyone else find it really difficult to follow a recipe exactly? I am always missing one or two ingredients and have to come up with clever substitutes. Sometimes it doesn’t turn out so great, but in this case it was fine. I used whole wheat rotini instead of orecchiette, broccoli instead of broccoli rabe, and I’ve never heard of vegetarian flavored chicken broth? I used plain old vegetable broth and white wine vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. My version turned out good, so I’m sure the original is pretty good too.

I will say, it’s a bit of a relief to go back to eating non-Vegan dishes. Although, cooking and eating like a Vegan for 3 weeks has changed the way I think about food. I really want to try and eat more vegetables, less carbs, cheese and meat. Let’s hope it sticks.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sometimes you just need to eat pasta..

  1. I’m a cook, the only time I follow a recipe exactly is when it’s baking. Baking is more science. If you’re missing something integral it just doesn’t work!

    I haven’t had wheat pasta in….3 weeks I think. I don’t miss it too bad. I prefer rice noodley-stir fry things!

  2. Hence the reason I don’t bake 🙂

Leave a Reply

