Done with Daniel

I am finally done with Daniel. I’ve completed the fast. I feel relieved, healthier, and lighter. I didn’t lose as much weight as I expected, but 7.5 lbs in 3 weeks is not bad. Honestly, the first 2 weeks were easier than the 3rd week. This last week was a challenge. I found myself craving bread and meat, tempted to reach for the tortilla chips, and getting lazier in my cooking. It’s hard to cook from scratch every night, and after 2 failed dinner attempts, I almost called it quits. I’ve decided that I should stick to eating Indian food, and avoid cooking it. I still can’t figure out what I did wrong, and I’m blaming it on the Garam Masala I bought at the store.

I’ve fallen behind a bit with the blogging because my schedule has been slightly hectic this past week (yet another reason why following through with the Daniel fast was a challenge), but I do have a few other recipes that I managed to not screw up that I will share.

Easy Vegetable Slow-Cooker Soup (seriously so easy)

You certainly don’t have to make this recipe in the slow cooker. It would work just as well in a dutch oven, after boiling on the stove for about an hour.

What you need:

1 tbsp of olive oil

1 onion diced

5 cloves of garlic minced

3 stalks of celery chopped (optional)

1 bag of frozen vegetable medley (mine had beans, carrots, peas, and corn)

1 can of white beans/cannellini beans drained and rinsed (optional)

1 box of vegetable stock (or chicken stock – definitely will give it more flavor)

1 can of diced tomatoes, or tomato sauce (any kind you like)

2 bay leaves

1 head of cabbage cut into thin strips

Salt & pepper to taste

Chives or parley for garnish (optional)

Recipe:

1. Sautee the onion, garlic and celery in a large skillet over medium heat until they are translucent.

2. Add the cooked onions, garlic, celery, the frozen bag of vegetables, the bay leaves and the thin strips of cabbage to the slow cooker

3. Add enough of the stock to almost cover the vegetables. It does not need to cover them completely because the veggies will give off a lot of their own juices.

4. Add in the diced tomatoes or tomato sauce (start with half a can at first)

5. Cook in the slow cooker for 4-6 hours on low.

7. Add the beans and cook for another half hour

8. Add salt and pepper to taste. If you use vegetable stock, you will need to add a lot of salt.

9. Garnish with some chopped chives or parsley

Easy and pretty tasty.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Done with Daniel

  1. This soup looks delicious!!

  2. It was pretty good, if I do say so myself 🙂

  3. […] Vegetable soup – 2 points […]

Leave a Reply

