3 meals, 1 day

Wednesday evening was my day of food prep and cooking for the Daniel fast. I got A LOT done. I made chola tikkis (Indian flavored chickpeas & potato cakes), corn & bean salsa for burritos or salad toppers, and a huge pot of Weight Watcher’s vegetable soup.

The Chola Tikki’s are already gone. I made enough for dinner last night (for Matt and myself) and for lunch this afternoon. They were so easy and SO delicious. They were, by far, the favorite of the evening. However, they were also the most fattening. Potatoes, tofu, and the like should be eaten in moderation on the Daniel fast. Food intake should consist mostly of fruits and vegetables. Nonetheless, they were delicious and perfectly okay to eat in moderation on the Daniel fast. I used this recipe.

Chola Tikkis before they were pan seared

Here they are finishing up in the pan. Golden brown and delicious. Use only about 1 tbsp of oil.

While I was forming the Chola Tikki patties, another dish was bubbling away on the stove. I made a HUGE pot of vegetable soup. I adapted the recipe from Weight Watchers. My mom used to make it for us all the time when we were both trying to lose weight for my upcoming wedding. It is a very filling soup and only 1 point (if you are following weight watchers). 

Here’s how I made it: I chopped TONS of vegetables (you can use whichever kinds you have – frozen or fresh): a whole head of cabbage, a handful of carrots, 2 stalks of celery, 4 cups of broccoli florets, 1 orange bell pepper, 1 onion, 3 cloves of garlic, and 1 zucchini 

I threw the veggies in a large pot, along with 6 cups of vegetable stock and about 2 tsp of thyme leaves and some salt and pepper. Put a lid on and let it boil away. Once the veggies are wilted (cooked) to your liking, stir in the juice of one lemon or lime and add some chopped chives. SO easy and it makes a TON of soup. 

The last dish I chose to make was a corn and black bean salsa, also found on weight watchers. I plan on eating it tonight on a whole grain tortilla or as a salad topper. It was so colorful and full of flavor!

Mix 1 can of drained beans, 1 can of drained corn, a diced red bell pepper, 1 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp of salt, the juice of a lime, and 1/4 cup cilantro together in a bowl and let it marinate in the fridge for at least one hour.

It doesn’t get simpler than that and now I have a number of options to choose from the next time I open my fridge!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “3 meals, 1 day

  1. Clara says:

    Mmm I love big pots of veggie soup that last forever. They’re so easy to make and I always feel so good eating them.

Leave a Reply

