Curried Tofu and Veggies

I managed to make it through my first day of the Daniel fast, which in some ways, I think is the hardest day. I could be wrong, but I’m feeling more motivated now that I have day 1 under my belt.

The Daniel Fast book, by Susan Gregory, is amazing. If you are considering doing the daniel fast, I HIGHLY recommend you purchase this book. It has SO many recipes to choose from, which definitely makes the process of doing a partial fast (or diet, if you look at it that way) much easier. Sunday I made the corn chips, which I somehow managed to screw up so I’ll have to toss the batch and start again. But Monday I made the curried tofu and vegetable stir-fry recipe from the book and it turned out delicious! I barely even missed the meat. I served it with brown rice and I felt completely satisfied afterwards.

Here’s how I made it. The recipe is slightly adapted from Susan Gregory’s book, The Daniel Fast.

Ingredients:

1 red onion sliced, 5 cloves of garlic minced, 1 jalapeno chopped, 1 zucchini chopped, 1 package of sliced mushrooms, a handful of baby carrots roughly chopped, 12 grape tomatoes halved, 1 block of firm tofu cut into cubes, 14 oz can of unsweetened coconut milk, 1/4 cup of water, juice of 1/2 a lemon or lime, 2 tsp of curry powder, red pepper flakes, salt & pepper, 2 tbsp of oil (whatever kind you have)

1. Cook the onion, garlic, carrots, and tomatoes in the oil until they start to soften

2. add the tofu, jalapeno, curry powder, red pepper flakes (however much you want) and salt and pepper. Cook for 10 minutes until everything is soft.

3. add the zucchini, mushrooms, cononut milk, lemon (or lime) juice and water. Cover and let cook for approximately 10 minutes, stirring occasionally to combine everything. The mushrooms and zucchini should be cooked through.

4. Serve over brown rice

I also made Ina Garten’s (of the Barefoot Contessa) roasted cauliflower and garlic, which is absolutely delicious. I’ve made this many times. You can get the recipe for that here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Curried Tofu and Veggies

  1. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

