Up the Adventure factor

Hiking with Maggie

“What humbugs we are, who pretend to live for Beauty, and never see the Dawn!”  ~Logan Pearsall Smith
Sometimes life can get a little boring (hence my addiction to travel and food). Sometimes its easy to get caught up in the day to day, and we get stuck in this sort of hum drum routine. But it doesn’t have to be this way. Just because you can’t afford a plane ticket right now doesn’t mean all is lost. There are things you can do that can up the adventure factor in your life without traveling to some exotic part of the world.

So, this past Saturday, Matt and I decided to head over to the Sourland Mountains (NJ) with our dog, Maggie for a little off-leash hike. And I have to tell you, it was one of the most fun things I’ve done in awhile. Not only was it nice to get out in the fresh air, get some exercise (it truly made me realize how out of shape I was, I just about died on the way up), spend some time with Mags, but it also made me feel like I was on vacation! There were streams flowing throughout the mountain, and large rocks to climb on, and wide open fields. It wasn’t something I expected to find in my own backyard.

What are some things you do to spice up the every day when travel isn’t feasible?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

