My Favorite Way to Eat Asparagus (or any veggie for that matter)

Asparagus can be a tricky vegetable. Luckily, I’ve found that most veggies taste good roasted. It’s a fool proof way to cook them too. Asparagus falls under this category. It is delicious roasted in the oven. This recipe is so simple, it’s embarrassing. It’s not really even a recipe so much as it is a method of cooking. Whenever I roast vegetables, this is how I do it. I’ll use asparagus as an example:

Turn the oven to a high temperature (400-450 degrees)

After washing the asparagus, snap one in half to see where it breaks. Discard the woody end. Then use this asparagus as a guide to cut the rest of them. I’ve found this is just as effective as snapping each asparagus individually. However, if I’m not in a rush I still sometimes choose to snap each one, just because it’s fun (It’s along the same line as smashing garlic. A good method to release stress).

Line the asparagus on a roasting pan (I use a stoneware baking dish)

drizzle olive oil, salt, pepper and minced garlic over the asparagus. Massage into the asparagus until they are coated evenly.

Pop them into the oven for 20 minutes (sometimes more if necessary).

Take them out of the oven when they look slightly crisp, but not burnt, and grate parmesan cheese over them while they are still hot.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “My Favorite Way to Eat Asparagus (or any veggie for that matter)

  1. Awesome simple recipe. I usually steam my asparagus and it comes out stringy. Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

