Filling Foods?

I have been told by weight loss experts that fruit and veggies are what they call “filling foods” and that eating an apple or some broccoli is a great way to curb your hunger. I want to believe this, I really do, but time and time again my body tells me this is false.

I ate about 2 cups of pineapple this morning for breakfast and guess what? An hour later my stomach is growling.

There is no question in my mind that eating the pineapple was a good choice. I know that foods like these are good for me and that my body will reap the benefits in due time. But filling? No, they are not. The experts definitely are lying.

If they are so filling, why am I starving about 15 minutes after I eat it? Why is it that what the experts call, “non-filling foods”, such as a nice fat dinner roll, or a plate of fried rice actually make me feel more full?

So, sorry experts, but pineapple is not a “filling” food. The truth is, it’s good for you and eating that opposed to some kind of fatty carb will help you be healthy and lose weight. But we need to accept the fact that to lose weight, sometimes we are going to be hungry. The reality is that the truly filling foods, i.e. the breads and pastas and chips, make you fat.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Filling Foods?

  1. Joanna says:

    Yea I mean, I think the technical requirements for adhering to the strict ‘filling foods’ guidelines would be that you are supposed to eat 5 servings throughout the day of fruits and/or veggies, for a 1/2 cup per serving (except for leafy greens which are 1 cup per serving), and to eat these until your stomach feels not empty but not super full-hence, reasonably satisfied. (to eat 9 servings per day if you weigh more than 350 lbs. lol). I always thought a serving was 1 cup, not a 1/2 cup, so that stinks, because when you think about it, that’s really not that much. But you also should analyze whether you are getting your 6 glasses of liquids (any type) in for the day, as well as taking the multivitamin and making sure to get whole grains in and fat free dairy.

  2. Joanna says:

    Eat lots of blood oranges and tangelos, as they are in season. Try new random produce when you are in the grocery store, like starfruit and lychee nuts. And make sure to have ‘healthy’ crackers or snackbars on hand, that way if you do overdo it, you’ve only overdone it on healthier food (ie, eating a 1/3 of a turkey instead of eating a whole quart of ice cream lol that was brought of up tonight in the meeting).

  3. Yeah I agree. My point is if I need a quick snack…I’m reaching for the bread, not the apple. If I were to eat the apple, I’d be hungry within 15 minutes!

Leave a Reply

