A Trip to Texas

I thought a picture of a longhorn would be appropriate for this blog

My husband was invited to go to a conference for work. You can imagine how excited I was when I found out wives were invited to come along. I love to travel in general, but when it is an all-expense paid trip, I love it even more. The conference was originally supposed to be in Seattle and I was extatic – one, because I had never been there, and two, because the food is rumored to be pretty phenomenal. I started researching where we would eat, what we would do, and where we would go, only to be told a few weeks later that the conference was cancelled and we would be attending a new conference – in Dallas, Texas.

I was a little disappointed. After all, I had done research for Seattle and I knew exactly where I wanted to go. However, I quickly got on board for Dallas and I’m glad I did because it was a very rewarding trip. The conference had some great speakers, we saw some really cool places, and the food was actually (I have to admit suprisingly) very good. I do love Southern food, but living a few years in TN, I have to admit, sometimes it gets a little boring (and a little fattening). So I was expecting much of the same in Dallas. I’m glad I was proved wrong.

So, here it is, my very Texas-y blog about all the things I experienced in Dallas (mostly food related).

Portabella fries - I think I'd almost have these over regular fries

 

Some pretty awesome tuna tar tar

I ordered a Greek Salad to be healthy - then ordered some mac and cheese and potato cakes. I don't regret it at all.

Some kind of doughy bread that's traditional to Texas

Elm Street - now famous because it's where JFK was shot.

When in Rome...

A Buffalo Quesadilla

 

This place was massive. Just like Texas.

 

They don't do small portions in Texas

 

Me and some Cacti - and no that's not a uni-brow. It's my sunglasses.

 

I highly recommend going to the aquarium in Dallas. It was one of the best ones I've been to. The Flamingos were my favorite.

You can't go to Texas and not eat some good Tex Mex food.

 
All in all, a great trip.
Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

