Change of Taste…

Over the years, my taste buds seem to have changed. No doubt, they will continue to change as well. When I was a kid I loved Macaroni and Cheese, until one day, when I was probably around 5 or 6, I saw my mom making it and for some reason it grossed me out. I hated mac and cheese for years after that. Now I happen to love it again, although it would probably be better if I didn’t (mac and cheese is loaded with calories).

I used to love hot dogs, then I hated them, now I’m somewhere in between. I hated broccoli as a kid. Literally the smell of it would make me gag, but now I love it – it’s one of my favorite vegetables. I roast it in the oven at least once a week. I got sick after eating cream of mushroom soup once and I’ve never felt the same way about it again.

It’s funny how our taste buds change. My newest and strangest change in taste has to do with sort of a shrimp and bruschetta combo dish. The first dish I ever really mastered in the kitchen was a shrimp, tomato and feta sauce tossed with linguine. It’s delicious. I mean everyone raves about it whenever I make it. I’ve made it many many times and it’s become sort of a staple, go to dish in my house. But the past few times I have made it, I’ve noticed I don’t really enjoy it anymore. Everyone else seems to love it just as much, but for some reason, I don’t. I kind of avoid the shrimp and load up on more pasta than the actual sauce. And it’s not just this dish. I’ve noticed I don’t really enjoy bruschettas or shrimp separately anymore either. It’s not that I can’t eat them, it’s more of just a feeling of ambivalence towards them, when I used to love these two things. I wonder what’s changed. Perhaps I ate too much of it and now I’m just a little bored with it. Perhaps our taste buds really do change over time and we grow out of liking things we once loved. Who knows, in a couple of years I’ll probably love it again.

ambivalence - sometimes I like them, sometimes I don't

I am beginning to like this soup again, but I don't know if I'll ever feel the same...

 

Don't know why I flip flopped back and forth for so long. Mac and Cheese is possibly one of the greatest dishes around.

 

Still don't know how I feel about them. A love-hate relationship.

broccoli - a once sworn enemy, now a faithful friend. I'm thankful my tastebuds changed on this one as it's one of the healthiest veggies around.

*Images from Google
 
Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

