The five most influential trips I ever took

1. Thailand. I don’t know if this counts as a trip or not. Technically, it was my home for 12 years, but every visit I make back to the place I grew up influences me in a different way. I am in love with and inspired by this country. It is never the same and always the same. If you’ve read my Banana Tree City post, it’s a land of paradoxes which is why I have to include it in my top 5 most influential trips. The culture, the people, the sites, and the food have helped to shape who I am today.

Me and two of my childhood best friends waiting for the sky train in Bangkok

2. Paris. I, along with two other friends, visited one of our mutual friends while she was studying here in college. Going on an International trip with college friends is something everyone should do. It’s liberating and exciting and enlightening. I figured out the metro system (which was top notch), saw as much as I possibly could (and yes the Eiffel Tower is as amazing as everyone says, but the Mona Lisa is overrated), made friends and went out with Parisian college students and other students studying abroad, ate some fantastic food, and shopped way too much. It was an amazing trip and one that I won’t forget.

walking at the Louvre in Paris

3. Russia. This was not one of my favorite trips by any means. In fact, it was probably one of my least favorites. I went with my mom and grandparents to teach English at a Russian University in Moscow. We also saw St. Petersburg. I would like to go back, now that I am older, because I think I would have a better appreciation and understanding of the country. But at the time, for me, Russia was a bit of a culture shock. The students and people were all so lovely, but there is a sadness about Russia that I can’t quite put my finger on. The country has an extensive, often tragic, violent, and turbulent history and it felt as though the people were still struggling to get past it in some ways. I put it in my top most influential trips because I am still very grateful for the eye opening experience that it was and I am grateful for all the wonderful people I met and the amazing history that is still so relevant in Russia.

4. Tijuana & Ensenada, Mexico. I have been to Tijuana twice and Ensenada once. All three times I traveled to Mexico on a church trip to build homes for the homeless. If you have ever been on a similar kind of trip, where the purpose is solely to help someone else, you know why this is influential. It changes you. There is nothing more rewarding than seeing the joy on a family’s face when you give them a key to a house, when just a week ago they had no place to live. I will never forget the people I met there or the change I felt spiritually and emotionally during the trip.

Our team in front of the house we built in a week

5. Greece. My most recent venture. My honeymoon in Greece. A honeymoon is influential for many reasons, obviously, the most important being this is the first trip you and your new spouse have taken together as husband and wife. It was a blissful, perfect trip. Yes, the beaches are beautiful, the water is crystal clear, and the hotels are phenomenal, but Greece is more than just a honeymooner’s paradise. Greece is a country filled with rich history and incredible depth. I found myself constantly day dreaming of who, in years past, had walked the streets I was now walking. So, not only was it the first trip I took with my husband, but it was also a very informative and inspiring trip. There are few places that have as much historical depth to offer as Greece does.

Me and the Aegean Sea - on the island of Crete

2 thoughts on “The five most influential trips I ever took

  1. Natalie says:

    loove this and love the picture for thailand 🙂

Leave a Reply

