Reasons to Smile

If I think about all the things I have to do that I’ve been avoiding, and if I start thinking about the work weeks ahead of me, and the cold winter that is drawing closer by the day, it is fairly easy to become depressed. It’s not that I hate my job, but I don’t love it either. I don’t wake up everyday dying to get to work. I hit the snooze about 20 times, roll out of bed at the last possible minute, and grumpily stumble out the door. Then I sit at a desk for 8 hours a day. Some days are good, some days are bad. Sound familiar? I have a feeling most people experience a similar scenario every day.

I have much to be thankful for. I have a husband who loves me, a new puppy who I adore, supportive family and friends, a short work commute, a new apartment I get to decorate exactly the way I want…the list goes on. But sometimes it’s very easy to suffer from the “grass is greener” syndrome. Sometimes it’s very easy to focus on the negatives instead of the positives and imagine life would be better somewhere else, doing something else, being somebody else. These are usually lies, but when we are feeling down, it’s easy to go to that place.

So today, feeling a little down and gloomy and thinking about the much more exciting life I could be leading, I was not in the mood to get up, walk the dog, and head out for my very mediocre job. But when I got settled in at my desk at work, I looked outside and saw this…

My Iphone camera does not do it justice, but it couldn’t have been a more perfect rainbow. And so, I was reminded, that there are still many “out-of-the-ordinary” things that happen everyday, and that there are reasons to smile, even when you feel bored or un-impressed with your life. As cliche as it might sound, I started to think more positively. I realized that sometimes you have to be content with where you are at NOW in your life and stop thinking about where you could be. Not that you shouldn’t have goals or want to change your circumstances, but there is a difference between that and constantly comparing or over-analyzing what could be different. So, on a boring, old, middle-of-the-week, same old, same old Tuesday, I have a reason to smile. There is a beautiful rainbow outside my window and I can’t help thinking that maybe it’s foreshadowing what is to come.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Reasons to Smile

  1. Natalie says:

    i feel this way alot too…especially in my current situation but it is true…the grass is always greener on the other side. glad God gave you a rainbow!

Leave a Reply

