Why everyone should love Indian food

I don’t discriminate when it comes to food. Most food I try, no matter where in the world it is from, I enjoy whole-heartedly. Pasta from Italy, rice and noodle dishes from Asia, French bread and pastries, Guacamole and tortilla chips from Mexico. I mean you really can’t go wrong.

But Indian food has always been at the top of my list, and there are a number of reasons why. There are few dishes that have the same depth of flavor as Indian dishes do. Many people stay away from it assuming that it’s “hot and spicy”. This is a common misconception. Indian food is spicy, but not in the burn-your-mouth kind of way. Food can be spicy without a ton of heat. That’s the beauty of it, you can control the amount of heat and still get a ton of flavor in every bite without making it too “spicy” in the traditional sense of the word.

I am also constantly impressed by the amount of time it takes to create the curries and dishes I love. Many of them are slow cooked for hours, marinating in their spices and juices.  At the same time, chefs like Bal Arneson (who I was thrilled to discover on the cooking channel) show us how to whip up fast flavorful Indian spinoffs.

How anyone thought to combine all the different spices is beyond me. But whoever did is a genious and will forever have my gratitude. Spices such as (but not limited to) cumin, tumeric, choriander, and cloves are combined, and somehow create the perfect marriage of heat, flavor and color, which is yet another Indian food “perk”. Most Indian dishes are beautiful red, orange and golden colors that beckon and invite you to try them before you even get a taste or smell.

I know that many people have preconceived notions about Indian food. But I beg you to try before you judge. Most likely you will not be disappointed, and hopefully, if you do hold those preconceived notions (whatever they may be) you will be proven wrong.

And FYI, if you go to any Indian restaurant for lunch, there is usually a buffet of all the best Indian dishes around. You get to try a little bit of everything.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Why everyone should love Indian food

  1. Clara says:

    Mmm I absolutely love Indian food! My favorite dish is one you have pictured- Saag Paneer.

  2. one of my favorite dishes too!

Leave a Reply

