Sometimes I buy lemons in a jar…

real lemons

VS.

fake lemons

 
The new food movement has begun. In fact, it began awhile ago. But the demand for fresh, local and organic ingredients is on the up and up. With documentaries like “Food Incorporated” (which everyone must see), buying organic ingredients or ingredients from local farm stands has become more popular. Knowledge is power. And now that people are more informed, everyone is hopping on the fresh food band wagon.

This new movement is for the better I think. I am always amazed when I watch a TV show like “Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution”, where chef Jamie visits cities and towns all across the United States and educates people about the food they are putting into their bodies. I am amazed because of the lack of knowledge that the US still portrays when it comes to eating healthy food. Aren’t we supposed to be an advanced nation? There are kids who have never seen a brussel sprout, families who eat every meal at the local fast food chain, people who have never heard of the food pyramid and what a healthy day’s intake of food looks like.

Yes, there are many people who are ill-informed about nutrition. There are also many people who have been aware of the problem of processed food for awhile and always make healthy choices. You would never find anything mass produced in their fridge, no hormone injected chicken there! But there are some people who are informed, have all the necessary knowledge they need to purchase the right types of food, and yet, they still don’t. I must admit sometimes I fall into this last category.

I am all for avoiding fast food chains whenever possible, supporting local farms and organic produce, and eating lots of fruits and veggies. I do my best to educate myself on the food I am eating. But sometimes I succumb to convenience, comfort, and cravings and I make bad choices in regards to food. One trap I always fall into is the bottled lemon/lime juices. I am embarrassed to admit it, but I can’t always taste the difference between the fresh and the bottled and the problem with the fresh is that it goes bad so quickly! I try to avoid those colorful little bottles that never expire (if it doesn’t ever expire, that most likely means they put some sort of chemical in to make it last longer), but sometimes the temptation gets the better of me, because honestly how much easier is it to squirt a bottle than cut and squeeze a fresh lemon? I always feel a little guilty after. A friend of mine, who has been a very important personal educator in the organic food movement, would shutter to think I am buying lemon juice in a bottle.

But I am trying to be better when it comes to purchasing my food and in the end I think that’s the best that anyone can ask for. There are always going to be those advanced, organic food growers who think you are a terrible person for purchasing a bottle of lemon juice. They would ask, how can you consider yourself to be a part of this movement? My response would be, baby steps and everything in moderation. Yes, it’s always better to buy fresh. But sometimes we have to purchase for convenience sake to stay sane! With life’s busy schedule, it’s not always possible for me to avoid a fast food chain, or make multiple stops at local farms on the way home from work.  

And while it’s always a better option to make a homecooked meal from local organic ingredients, sometimes Chinese take out or frozen whatevers are the most appealing option in the heat of the moment. I’m not saying it’s the right choice, but it happens. I am a work in progress and I will continue to educate myself about the food I eat, and maybe I can even give up the bottled lemon juice. After all, you are what you eat and we should all be making a more conscious effort to be healthy.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Sometimes I buy lemons in a jar…

  1. Clara says:

    I’m all about eating organic and local foods, but we can only do the best we can do! Making home cooked meals in general, I think, makes a huge difference in our health. So a little bottled lemon juice? No big deal :).

Leave a Reply

