Unique Eats on the Jersey Shore

My family and I venture to Wildwood, NJ almost every summer for a little bit of sun, fun, relaxation, and of course, some great food. Since I have been to Wildwood oh, about 20 times, I thought I had exhausted all the food possibilities in the area. However, there are 2 special restaurants that stick out in my mind.

Bandanas Mexican Grille. I eat here almost everytime I am in Wildwood. It is possibly my favorite restaurant on the whole Island. You may find it strange that I picked a Mexican restaurant by the beach when there are so many great seafood places around, but this place really is something special. First of all, you get free chips and salsa. Any restaurant that gives me something free to munch on before I order my meal is a winner in my mind. If you like Tex-Mex and Mexican dishes, the food is pretty phenomenal. You can’t go wrong with anything you order at this place. Except, my brother once ordered the Grazing Plate, which don’t get me wrong, was very good, but it’s a combination of chicken fingers, fries, mozzarella sticks, and minichangas. This is not what you order at a Mexican restaurant unless you don’t like Mexican food, which lets be honest, there is something wrong with you if you don’t.

Pulled Chicken Chimichangas - to die for

Steak and avocado salad - and a peek at those free chips!

 Oh, and I forgot to mention the dessert at Bandanas is the best on the Island. Fried Banana splits, warm gooey brownies, any flavor of ice cream you can imagine. Dessert is a must.

Place number 2 is actually not in Wildwood. It’s in Cape May, which is a 10 minute drive away. If you are ever in the Wildwood area of New Jersey, you have to check out Cape May. It’s a charming town, with great little restaurant, shops, and family style bed and breakfast’s lining the streets.

We ventured into Cape May to try out George’s Place, a restaurant that was featured on one of my favorite shows, Diners Drive Ins and Dives. When we found out the breakfast wait was an hour (the impatient bunch we are), we quickly decided that we would try one of the many other restaurants in the area. A couple doors down from George’s Place, is the YB Eat Place (no idea what the name stands for). Guy Fieri also ate here and apparently YB is in conjunction with George’s, owned by the same person. Although the menu is small, it is certainly unique. With items like “The Hangover” and the Chorizo style omelette, this is the place to go if you are looking for some different, fun food. I wish we ate here for lunch or dinner because those menus looked even more amazing than the breakfast menu(they had avocado tzaziki which I am dying to try the next time I go back). 

The breakfast Club - bacon, egg, lettuce, and tomato on Sourdough bread crusted with parmesan cheese and served with a spicy aioli

 

Sugar packets - Had to take a picture of this because these sugar packets definitely came straight from Greece. You can tell the owner of George's Place and YB is Greek.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Unique Eats on the Jersey Shore

  1. helpseller says:

    Wow, they look very tasty

  2. Kim Gilbert says:

    Hello, YB stands for Younger Brother, as this is George’s (a Cape May restaurant) younger brother’s place. Nice article!

Leave a Reply

