Fried Pickles: Everything you want in a snack

I had never tasted a fried pickle before this weekend. In fact, I hadn’t really even heard that you could fry a pickle until Snookie enlightened me one night while I was watching her lovely show, The Jersey Shore.Fried Pickles at "Stand" in NYC

While visiting some friends in New York City this past weekend, one of my friends mentioned that she wanted to try a famous toasted marshmallow milkshake at Stand, a restaurant featured on Food Network’s show, “The Best Thing I Ever Ate”. Being the foodie that I am, this sounded like an excellent plan to me. After ordering a variety of different milkshake flavors and a few orders of sweet potato fries, I was still craving something else. That’s when someone pointed out the fried pickles on the menu. I decided to go for it, and I have to say, I’m rather glad I did.

The pickles have a sweet and sour taste, as all pickles do, but what makes them different is that they are covered in a crispy fried batter and served with some sort of honey dijon mustard sauce. They have the right amount of tang, and the right amount of crunch to satisfy any craving. All in all, the perfect midday Manhattan snack.

I am starting to believe you could probably fry anything and make it taste good.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Fried Pickles: Everything you want in a snack

  1. Mateo says:

    hahahah..yes it looks so delicious,
    If you were here in seoul..you could try my risotto seafood,
    Anyway hurry up^^
    take care

  2. indyink says:

    Be careful, deep fried pickles are very addictive! My favorites are the Claussens.

Leave a Reply

