Saying “yes to the dress” is harder than it seems

picture from google images

Most people have seen TLC’s show Say Yes to the Dress. Or if they haven’t seen it, they’ve at least heard of it. It’s a show that features brides-to-be as they try on dresses in one of New York City’s most prestigious bridal stores, Kleinfeld’s. I am a huge fan of the show, and now that I am a bride to be myself I thought it would be so much fun to try on dresses. Most of the brides on the show describe a feeling they get when they find “the dress”, and that “they just know”. Maybe I was disillusioned by the show, but so far, I have not found wedding dress shopping to be that simple.

I have been to 5 bridal salons. I have tried on tons of wedding dresses. And I have loved the majority of them. So, what you ask, is the problem exactly? Just pick one! Well, easier said than done. As it turns out, wedding dress shopping isn’t as easy as Say Yes to the Dress makes it seem. And yes, some of the future brides are shown hating all the dresses. They cry and get emotional and yes, some leave without purchasing a dress. But in some ways, I’d rather hate everything I try on than love everything I try on.

For me the problem isn’t that I can’t find a dress that I like. The problem is I like them all! And I keep searching for one that will stand out above all the others. What do you do when you have 5 dresses you love equally, but still are looking for something that will stand out above the rest? I’m beginning to wonder if that dress exists. I’m beginning to wonder if those brides that say “you just know” when you find “the one” were lying. Maybe I should just choose between the dresses i have tried on and liked. Maybe I should stop searching for THE dress, and just pick A dress.

This is the dilemma I’m facing. Maybe a trip to Kleinfelds will clear it up for me :). Stay tuned.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

