The Banana Tree City

Bangkok is a unique city, full of paradoxes.  The slums situated right next to some of the most fabulous hotels in the world, the lush greenery popping through the concrete in between the buildings, the many MANY smells, both nauseating and appetizing. These are just some of the things that come to mind when I think of the city I grew up in – my favorite city in the world, Bangkok. It is a city unlike any other.

I lived in Bangkok for 12 years, and so, it feels like home. But at the same time, I have to wonder how a city I have lived in for that long can still surprise me. Every time I travel back I am shocked (in a good way usually) by what I see, yet I still get that familiar feeling of belonging. Maybe it is the authentic food that keeps me coming back or maybe it’s the fantastic shopping…But I think it’s because the city itself is unlike any place else in the world.

Kao Pad Gai (Chicken Fried Rice) My favorite food on the planet

Weekend Market Shopping in Chatuchak

Street Food - Our chef for the night

I have grown up now. I am no longer the little girl sitting beneath the banana trees eating sticky rice and day dreaming. I have been around the world, city after city, place after place, and yet, I still yearn for Bangkok. When my feet touch the soil after the VERY long plane ride from New York, something happens to me and I feel like I am home.

Lush plant life is all over bangkok - what other city can you find flowers filled with honey popping up through the cement?

Moving sales cart

Sky train + Monsoon

Coca Cola - The World's favorite drink

local street vendor and a woman buying dinner

Alters can be found everywhere in Bangkok - Religion, namely Buddhism is an integral part of Thai culture

The inside of part of Siam Paragon - a beautiful shopping center and attraction in Bangkok

Some things don't change - like the constant spelling and grammatical errors on signs

My amazing Bangkok. For those just passing through, it is easy to enjoy and marvel at the strange, the exotic, the advanced. The paradoxes are what make the city. That’s the thing about Bangkok. It doesn’t fit the mold of what a city should be and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I hope it continues to surprise me and captivate me every time I venture there.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Banana Tree City

  1. Bangkok is a place I’d really like to go someday – I think it’s impossible to make it look ugly!

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Wow! You are so lucky to have the opportunity to travel like that 🙂 It looks wonderful there! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

